Head reveals the “secret” 2013 Graphene Rackets

First off, I would like to say Happy New Year to everyone!

The first grand slam of the year is already around the corner and everyone is getting ready to see the first great battles of the year.

Unfortunately, Rafael Nadal will not be playing in this years Australian Open due to a stomach virus, so David Ferrer will be taking his place and will be the number 4 seed of the tournament. I guess we’ll have to wait a bit longer to see Nadal in a grand slam again. Sucks.

A few days before the Australian Open starts, HEAD released a new racket series called “G”, which is an abbreviation of “Graphene.”

Though the explanation is in the video, let me explain why this material is so important to tennis rackets. In order to have power in your shots with less effort, the weight of the tennis racket must be focused on the tip part and the grip portion of your racket. However, previous rackets were unable to do so because normal carbon would just break or crack in the middle where there is not enough strength to support the weight of the ball’s impact. To solve this problem, HEAD got a material called Graphene which is a material that is described extremely light but harder than a diamond. Now I’m not a Graphene expert so I don’t want to get too carried away, but I did find a site that basically explains everything about that material which you can check that out here.

I personally am extremely excited about this racket. I’ll be testing the HEAD Youtek Graphene Speed MP racket whenever it is available for demo play, and I will be posting a review on it on this blog. Please let me know if you have this racket, and if so please share your review with us!

Now, the only available rackets which are using this material are the HEAD G Speed (top) and HEAD G Instinct (bottom) series. I’ve got to say, HEAD rackets have some of the best paint jobs and racket qualities in the world.

HEAD released 5 Speed Racket series; the heaviest is the Head Youtek Graphene Speed Pro, which weighs 315 grams (it is also the same racket that Novak Djokovic uses). The lightest of the series is the Head Youtek Graphene PWR Speed, which is only 255 grams. If you are not sure which weight it suitable for you, check out my previous post on tennis rackets by clicking here.

Now, I use the previous version of the Head Speed series, which is why I am really desperate to try the new ones out. If I were to buy one of these rackets, it would probably be the Head Youtek Graphene Speed MP, which weighs 300 grams. I tried out a racket that weighed 315 grams (the same one as my previous one, just this one is 30 grams heavier) and I ended up having wrist pain so I knew 315 was too heavy for me. Just an advice, if you used an extremely light racket and you are considering to buy a heavier one, don’t push yourself and go up 30+ grams all of a sudden. (Unless you are extremely buffed up.)

First, add additional weights on your racket and keep on adding them from time to time so that your body gets used to the racket. Then you can choose to demo the racket or buy it right away. But adding weight onto your racket needs some extreme balancing skill, so another simple way is to just buy a racket that only weighs a little more than your original racket. A couple years ago I used to use a racket that weighed only about 265 grams, then I bought a new one that was 285. I could’ve bought one that was 300 grams, but I didn’t want to risk getting tennis elbow.

This blue racket is one of the rackets from the Head Youtek Graphene Instinct series. Maria Sharapova uses this racket. The rackets of these series have almost the same exact design, just different weights, racket sizes and etc, same as the Speed Rackets.

Novak Djokovic and Maria Sharapova will be using the new Graphene rackets in the Australian Open this year, so lets see how much they’ve improved with a little help from their new high-tech rackets!

You can find out more about this racket on the HEAD Graphene page at http://head.com/g

Happy shopping!

~Jin

This is not a promotion of HEAD rackets and CLN is not in any way associated with the HEAD company. 
Disclaimer: Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.
