No.1vak Djokovic defeats Roger Federer in Barclay Finals

Before I start writing about the results, I would like to sincerely apologize for not posting for a while. I was extremely busy for a while, and I didn’t get a chance to update this site. And unfortunately, since I didn’t get to see the match, the post will be some-what short, and I apologize for that too.

The ATP World Tour Finals event is where the top 8 players from the world gather to London to decide who is the best player of the year. Each match’s winner is decided when 2 out of 3 sets are taken from one player.

Novak Djokovic holds his Barclays ATP World Tour Finals Trophy to celebrate his win over Roger Federer. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

The one that claimed the throne was the World Number 1, Novak Djokovic. He defeated the world number 2 Roger Federer, who recently won his 17th grand slam title in this year’s Wimbledon. The final lasted for about 2 hours and 15 minutes, and ended with a set count of 2-0, 7-6(6) 7-5.

To be honest, I wanted Federer to win this tournament. Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic are both my most favorite players, but the reason why I wanted for Fed to win is because I don’t think he’ll have a chance to ever win a big tournament like these again. Next year, on August 8th, Federer will turn 32 years old. Despite the fact that most tennis players, such as Andy Roddick, decide to retire when they are 30 years old, Federer has continued to play on for an extra year (and maybe another in 2013). Federer will face some disadvantages in both physically and mentally as he gets “older”. I would love to see him shine again, but I believe he won’t be able to win another grand slam or World Tour Finals title, especially if Rafael Nadal comes back.

Again, I am sorry for the short and uninformed post. If you would like to read more on how the match went, check out this Roger Federer fan blog, http://perfect-tennis.co.uk/. I think a post will be out soon that will describe how the match went.

~Jin

