Janko Tipsarevic denied in Vienna Semi-Finals

Grega Zemlja | Photo from tennis-pronostics.com

What an unsuspected loss from the world number 9! I was totally expecting a clash of Del Potro versus Janko Tipsarevic in the finals, but things turned out differently. Ranked number 70 in the ATP rankings, Slovenian Grega Zemlja defeated Serbia’s number 2, Janko Tipsarevic, after 2 hours and 34 minutes of play. The score was 3-6, 7-6(5), 6-2.

I can’t really tell you guys how the match went on, because as I said earlier I thought Janko was going to win this match, so I didn’t really feel the need to look at it. But I was wrong. What I can tell you is that Tipsarevic hit 5 double faults (3 DFs in the final set), which aided Zemlja to break Tipsarevic’s service game. Zemlja hit 10 service aces and only one double fault throughtout the match, which gave Tipsarevic a hard time breaking his serve.

Congratulations on winning against Tipsarevic!

Grega Zemlja will be facing the world number 8 Juan Martin del-Potro in the Vienna finals. Zemlja and Del Potro are awarded with 150 points as of now, but whoever wins the finals will gain 250 points and 87,870 euros. Good luck to both players!

~Jin

