Kei Nishikori unable to Participate in Basel

Kei Nishikori has been on a roll lately, winning the 2012 Tokyo Rakuten Open just a few weeks ago. However, the 2011 Basel finalist from last year will not be able to play in this year’s tournament due to a injury on his right ankle.

Nishikori stated on his Facebook status;

Hi everyone…I took an MRI on my right ankle and unfortunately will not be able to play Basel yet. Very disappointed as I had such great memories there last year. I am now working very hard with my team to get healthy and am looking forward to Paris.

~Kei Nishikori

I was expecting some great matches from Nishikori at Basel, but it’s very unfortunate that we will not be able to see last year’s Basel semi-finalist’s amazing play. Guess we’ll have to wait until the next ATP Masters event in Paris, which will start on October 29th and end on November 4th.

~Jin

