Gael Monfils is back! – ATP Metz

20120919-201523.jpg

I am very excited to say that one of my most favorite players, Gael Monfils has returned after a four month rehabilitation from his injury.

His first match since his comeback was at the ATP Metz, defeating Olivier Rochus of Belgium with a game count of 6-3, 6-2. Despite the fact that Monfils hasn’t been in a tournament for four months, he hit 21 aces in this match.

Monfils suffered from a right knee injury which caused him to miss out on the French Open, Wimbledon, Olympics, the U.S. Open, and other tournaments starting from May until now.

On the first sentence of this post, I mentioned that Monfils was one of my favorite tennis players. The reason why I like him is because he does the impossible. He never gives up until the ball hits the ground two times, and his acrobatics are really entertaining to watch. However, acrobatics may sometimes be dangerous, and may cause some injuries like this one. That’s the only thing I’m worried about.

The video below shows what Monfils is capable of, and also explains why he is one my favorite players.

Monfils vs Dimitriv

It’s fun to watch, isn’t it?

To celebrate Monfil’s return, I will be posting Monfil’s match previews and predictions ONLY for the ATP Metz tournament. šŸ™‚ So stay tuned!

I’m glad you’re back, Monfils!
~Jin

