Andy Roddick

During the U.S. Open this year, one of my most favorite players decided to retire from the tennis world. His name is Andy Roddick.

I never had the time to post about him, because I was too busy making a video on Roddick and posting some different articles. However, I now have the time to write about this amazing player, so that’s what I’ll do now.

My image of Andy Roddick is his unique form. Especially his serve. Do you guys remember Andy Roddick’s serve that dug into the court in 2007? Here’s a video to refresh your memories.

The original video hit over 4 million views, and there are many other copies around YouTube, and if you combine them all together, I think there is at least 1 to 2 more million views.

This was actually one of the first videos that I ever saw about tennis on YouTube. Back then, I didn’t know the player’s name and as I started to gain more interest in tennis, I finally got to know who he was.

I also like his powerful forehand. He likes to hold in some power before he has impact with the ball, so he waits the ball to drop a little before he hits the ball. The bad part about this forehand is that it gives time for the opponent to get ready for the shot, and unforced errors may increase if used in a bad way. I don’t really think that Andy Roddick’s backhand is unusual. If there was something different about his backhand, I would say that he is pushing the ball with a short time of impact, instead of absorbing it and hitting it hard.

I find it funny when Andy Roddick puffs up his cheek when he hits the ball. It is important to keep breathing during tennis, but his puffed up cheeks just make me laugh sometimes. But I do respect him for everything he’s done. 🙂

One of my main reasons why I adored Andy Roddick is by his funny personality. He has a great sense of humor, and he likes to brighten up the atmosphere. I would like to see him make more people laugh, but unfortunately that’s not going to happen.

Andy Roddick won his first and only grand slam title in 2003 at the U.S. Open, after defeating the number 3 seed Juan Carlos Ferrero. Roddick was only 21 years old.

I believe that Andy Roddick could of have won more grand slam titles, especially Wimbledon. He advanced to the Wimbledon finals 4 times, but was defeated by the tennis master, Roger Federer. Roddick and Federer faced each other 3 times in the Wimbledon finals in 2004, 2005, and 2009. They also faced each other once in the 2003 Wimbledon semi-finals, but Roger won that as well.

Andy Roddick ended his career with 32 singles titles and 4 more doubles titles.

I will miss Andy Roddick from the bottom of my heart, and it saddens me that I won’t be able to see anymore of his original tennis in tour.

Good-bye Roddick.

