Toronto Finals Predictions – 2012

The Toronto Mens Singles Finals will take place on August 12th, 7:00 PM Toronto Time. The two finalists are world number 2 Novak Djokovic and Frenchman Richard Gasquet(world #21). If Djokovic wins this match, he will be back in the number one place, going past Roger Federer, who has won the Wimbledon a couple of months ago. Unfortunately, Federer did not enter Toronto this year, and so didn’t Nadal. It’s pretty lucky for Novak, because all of the top 3 players of the world (except for himself) are not participating in this event.

Photo by lam_chihang

I predict that Djokovic will win with ease, due to the fact that he has defeated Gasquet the past four times they’ve battled each other. Throughout the match, I think that Djokovic will be aiming for Gasquet’s backhand, as it is weaker then his forehand. Kind of like Roger Federer, but of course, way different at the same time. Though, it sort of worries me that Djokovic has been loosing matches that I expected him to winer cently. For example, Federer vs Djokovic in the semi-finals of the 2012 Wimbledon. I could not predict the winner, but I was expecting a full set. However, Djokovic was defeated in 4 sets. Djokovic also lost to Del Potro in the Bronze Medal Match of the 2012 London Olympics. Del Potro was very strong, but I can say that Djokovic had a mental advantage. A couple days before that match, Del Potro and Roger Federer faced each other in the semi-finals, and the match lasted for a very long time, and was a equal battle for both players. In the end, Federer was the winner, and Del Potro was very depressed, or down-feeling, after the match. I thought that Djokovic would win the match against Del Potro because he had a mental advantage, but my predictions were wrong. I was pretty surprised when I saw the results. I hope that this time I foresight the aftermath correctly.

Prediction: Djokovic will win taking two sets in a row.

What do you guys think? Leave a comment below! No registration required!

~Jin

Ps. I will be heading to Tokyo for my school junior tournament, and will not be able to post for a while. Instead, Diego, a new CLN Author, may be posting instead of me. Just wanted to let yall know.

